Welcoming corn back into our kitchen

Our youngest son has been on a gluten free and corn free diet for years now…

http://kindcotton.com/2015/05/05/a-vintage-picnic-bag-and-the-history-behind-our-gluten-free-corn-free-diet/

Although we have tried reintroducing gluten into Eli’s diet

http://kindcotton.com/2015/06/18/oops/

… it occurred to me that we hadn’t tried reintroducing corn/ corn derivatives back into Eli’s diet.

We went slow… Just starting with simple things like salt and citric acid and xanthum gum.

This Trader Joe’s lollipop was Eli’s first piece of candy in FOREVER!


SUCCESS!! There were no reactions!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

We got braver and tried organic corn chips and food made with corn starch…

But the real deal was when Eli ate corn on the cob!


There were shrieks of joy when he ate popcorn…


Eli happened to have his well doctor’s visit and she was so happy that we had taken the risk and had Eli try corn. ย She also wasn’t surprised that he still can’t eat gluten, she said more and more people are finding that gluten affects their health in one way or another. She also assured us that his gluten sensitivity is not a sign of an underline issue… He’s a healthy “headstrong” 5 year old boy!

Naturally, grocery shopping has become so much fun! ย 

There are SO many options of food to eat! LOL- I feel like a kid in the candy store!!

I even reorganized the kitchen pantry using some new-found vintage Pyrex bowls!

Yes – that is a whole entire shelf devoted to sandwiches!

One of my first blog posts was about trying to love my kitchen despite the frustrations of a restricted diet.

http://kindcotton.com/2015/01/22/its-time-to-love-my-kitchen-again/

I happily accept that my kitchen is 1/2 gluten free!

I feel like a cook unleashed, a baker unchained… a mother with cooking options!!

4 thoughts on “Welcoming corn back into our kitchen

  1. Yay! Very exciting! As a mama of kids with dietary restrictions, I understand the frustration. Fortunately, there are many options available. Corn seems like a hard one to eliminate though. So I can imagine your excitement now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment